Rap Artists - Your #1 Rap Resource on the Net

Treacherous Three Biography

Treacherous Three Biography

T3 was formed in 1978 in the Bronx, New York, consisted of rappers Kool Moe Dee, Special K, L.A. Sunshine, and DJ Easy Lee. Kool Moe Dee, LA Sunshine, and DJ Easy Lee all went to the same high school (Norman Thomas) and added MC named Special K (Kevin Keaton).

Rapper Spoonie Gee introduced them to his uncle, producer Bobby Robinson, who in turned signed them to Enjoy Records. Their first single The New Rap Language was released in 1980 as the B-Side to Spoonie's single Love Rap (credited as Spoonie Gee & the Treacherous Three) and became popular in part due to Kool Moe Dee's faster style of rapping (dubbed 'speed-rapping'). In the same year, the group's success continued with the release of Body Rock, which marked the first time guitars were used in a hip hop song.

In 1981, they moved to Sugar Hill Records along with another Enjoy act Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five. T3 became well-known for their singles Feel the Heart Beat and Whip It. They were featured in the 1984 film Beat Street performing the song Xmas Rap with Doug E Fresh, but disbanded shortly afterwards.

Kool Moe Dee began a very successful solo career in 1986 and is known for such classic hits as Wild Wild West, Go See the Doctor, God Made Me Funke, I Go To Work and How Ya Like Me Now. Special K put out his own solo single in 1987. DJ Easy Lee moved on to producing music.

The group resurfaced in 1993 to do a reunion album on Easy Lee's record label. The album Old School Flava was released in 1994. In 1999, the album Turn it Up was released and consisted of previously released material.

Top Unsigned Artists


Rap / Hip-Hop / R&B

9 tray bloods

Rap / R&B


Hip-Hop / Hardcore / Rap

''JP'' Beatz

Hip-Hop / R&B / Rap


Hip-Hop / Rap